Skip to content

Yorkshire Dales and Lake District National Park extensions approved

by on October 29, 2015

Ministers have given the green light to extend the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District National Parks. As a result of this decision, announced last week by Environment Secretary Elizabeth Truss, Yorkshire, Cumbria and Lancashire will now share an extensive area of almost continuous designated land.

The announcement will see the Yorkshire Dales grow by nearly 24 per cent and Lake District by three per cent. An additional 188 square miles of land across Cumbria and a small part of Lancashire will now have greater protection.

In the case of the Lake District NP the extension involves an area from Birkbeck Fells Common to Whinfell Common and an area from Helsington Barrows to Sizergh Fell, as well as an area north of Sizergh Castle and part of the Lyth valley.

In respect of the Yorkshire Dales NP the extended area involves parts of the Orton Fells, the northern Howgill Fells, Wild Boar Fell and Mallerstang as well as Barbon, Middleton, Casterton and Leck Fells, the River Lune, and part of Firbank Fell and other fells to the west of the River Lune.

The Variation Order required for these extensions will come into effect in August 2016. Truss said: “The Dales and the Lakes have some of our country’s finest landscapes, beautiful vistas and exciting wildlife. They are part of our national identity.

I am delighted to be able to announce this extension which will join these two unique National Parks and protect even more space for generations to come.”

View the press release

Roger Milne

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: